



First 5 California Priority Level 1 Bills of Interest

Child Health

AB 2164 (Rivas) Telehealth.

Level 1

Support

Summary: Current law prohibits a requirement of in-person contact between a health care provider and a Medi-Cal patient when the service may be provided by telehealth, and, for purposes of telehealth, prohibits the department from limiting the type of setting where Medi-Cal services are provided. Existing law authorizes, to the extent that federal financial participation is available, the use of health care services by store and forward under the Medi-Cal program, subject to billing and reimbursement policies developed by the department, and prohibits a requirement of in-person contact between a health care provider and a Medi-Cal patient when these services are provided by store and forward. This bill would provide that an FQHC or RHC "visit" includes an encounter between an FQHC or RHC patient and a health care provider using telehealth by synchronous interaction or asynchronous store and forward. The bill would specify that an FQHC or RHC is not precluded from establishing a patient who is located within the FQHC's or RHC's federal designated service area through synchronous interaction or asynchronous store and forward as of the date of service if specified requirements are met.

Early Learning and Care

AB 15 (Nazarian) Student financial aid: California Kids Investment and Development Savings Program.

Level 1 Support

Summary: The California Kids Investment and Development Savings Program establishes the California Kids Investment and Development Savings Program Fund in the State Treasury to serve as the initial repository of all moneys received from state and private sources for the program, and continuously appropriates moneys in the fund to the board for the program. Subject to available moneys in the fund, the program requires the board to establish one or more Scholarshare 529 accounts and make a seed deposit of moneys from the fund into a Scholarshare 529 account, as specified, in an amount of at least \$25, as determined by the board. The program requires those moneys to be deposited in subaccounts, one designated for each California resident child born on or after January 1, 2020, and who is a California resident at the time of birth, except as specified.

Current law authorizes a parent or legal guardian currently residing in California to apply to the board to enroll in the program a child who is a current California resident under 10 years of age who either was born a California resident prior to July 1, 2020, or was not a California resident at the time of birth. This bill would require the State Department of Public Health, when providing the board with identifiable birth data, to additionally provide a child's parents' mobile telephone number and email address. The bill instead would authorize a parent or legal guardian currently residing in California to apply to the board to enroll in the program a child who is a California resident and who both was born on or after July 1, 2020, and was not a California resident at the time of birth.

AB 123 (McCarty) Early childhood education: childcare and development programs.

Level 1 Summary: Summary: The Child Care and Development Services Act, administered by the State Department of Education, requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction to administer childcare and development programs that offer a full range of services to eligible children from infancy to 13 years of age, inclusive. The act requires that families meet specified requirements to be eligible for federal- and state-subsidized childcare and development services. This bill would extend eligibility to a family in which a member of that family has been certified as fully eligible to receive CalFresh or Medi-Cal benefits. The bill would require a parent to provide documentation of current enrollment in CalFresh or Medi-Cal, unless the contractor providing childcare and development services has, and elects to use, other means of obtaining verification of that enrollment.

AB 125 (McCarty) Early childhood education: reimbursement rates.

Level 1 Sponsor

Summary: The Child Care and Development Services Act establishes a system of childcare and development services for children up to 13 years of age. Current law requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction to implement a plan that establishes reasonable standards and assigned reimbursement rates, which vary with the length of the program year and the hours of service. Current law requires the reimbursement system to be submitted to the Joint Legislative Budget Committee. This bill would require the Superintendent to implement a reimbursement system plan that establishes reasonable standards and assigned reimbursement rates that would vary with additional factors, including a quality adjustment factor to address the cost of staffing ratios, as provided.

AB 2496 (Choi) Income taxes: credits: cleaning and sanitizing supplies: COVID-19.

Level 1 Summary: The Personal Income Tax Law and the Corporation Tax Law allow various credits against the taxes imposed by those laws. This bill would allow a credit against those taxes for each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2020, and before January 1, 2021, to a taxpayer that is a business with a physical location in the state in an amount equal to the costs paid or incurred by the qualified taxpayer during the taxable year for the purchase of cleaning and sanitizing supplies used at business locations in the state to prevent the transmission of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19).

AB 2883 (Quirk-Silva) Childcare services: alternative payment programs: direct

deposits: reserve funds.

Level 1 Support

Summary: The Child Care and Development Services Act establishes a system of childcare and development services for children up to 13 years of age and requires the State Department of Education to contract with local contracting agencies for alternative payment programs for childcare services to be provided throughout the state. The act requires the alternative payment program to reimburse childcare providers based upon specified criteria, including the actual days and hours of attendance for those families with variable schedules, or for license-exempt childcare providers that provide part-time services, up to the maximum certified hours. This bill would delete the requirement that alternative payment programs provide reimbursement based on the actual days and hours of attendance to families with variable schedules or license-exempt childcare providers.

Revenue and Governance

AB 2581 (Reyes) Early childhood development: interagency workgroup.

Level 1 Watch

Summary: Upon appropriation by the Legislature for the purpose of transferring early childhood development programs to a single entity, this bill would establish an administering entity or entities for early childhood development programs. The bill would require the administering entity or entities to establish an interagency workgroup comprised of specified individuals, including the Deputy Superintendent of Public Instruction and representatives from various state departments, such as the State Department of Public Health and the State Department of Health Care Services, to perform specified duties, including establishing a memorandum of understanding between the departments outlining the joint authority for the promulgation of regulations for the coordination and alignment of services relating to early childhood care and learning, and annually submitting a report on its work to the Governor, the Superintendent of Public Instruction, and the Legislature. The bill would state related findings, declarations, and intents of the Legislature.

SB 793 (Hill) Flavored tobacco products.

Level 1 Watch

Summary: The Stop Tobacco Access to Kids Enforcement (STAKE) Act prohibits a person from selling or otherwise furnishing tobacco products, as defined, to a person under 21 years of age. Current law also prohibits the use of tobacco products in county offices of education, on charter school or school district property, or near a playground or youth sports event, as specified. This bill would prohibit a tobacco retailer, or any of the tobacco retailer's agents or employees, from selling, offering for sale, or possessing with the intent to sell or offer for sale, a flavored tobacco product or a tobacco product flavor enhancer, as those terms are defined, except as specified.

Strong and Engaged Families

AB 196 (Gonzalez) Worker's compensation: COVID-19: essential occupations and industries.

Level 1 Watch

Summary: Would define "injury," for certain employees who are employed in an occupation or industry deemed essential in the Governor's Executive Order of March 19, 2020 (Executive Order N-33-20), except as specified, or who are subsequently deemed essential, to include coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) that develops or manifests itself during a period of employment of those persons in the essential occupation or industry. The bill would apply to injuries occurring on or after March 1, 2020, would create a conclusive presumption, as specified, that the injury arose out of and in the course of the employment, and would extend that presumption following termination of service for a period of 90 days, commencing with the last date actually worked.

AB 1593 (Reyes) Personal income taxes: earned income credit.

Level 1 Support

Summary: The Personal Income Tax Law allows a refundable young child tax credit against the taxes imposed under that law, for each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2019, to a qualified taxpayer in specified amount multiplied by the earned income tax credit adjustment factor, as provided, and requires amounts of this credit in excess of the qualified taxpayer's tax liability to be paid to the qualified taxpayer from the Tax Relief and Refund Account, a continuously appropriated fund. Current law specifies that the earned income tax credit and young child tax credit are only operative for taxable years for which resources are authorized in the annual Budget Act for the Franchise Tax Board to oversee and audit returns associated with the earned income tax credit. This bill, for each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2019, and upon specified circumstances, including an appropriation by the Legislature for payments to taxpayers, would instead allow the taxpayer and the qualifying child to have a social security number or a federal individual taxpayer identification number in order to be eligible for the earned income tax credit, subject to specified requirements if a federal individual taxpayer number is used, including the provision of identifying documents to the Franchise Tax Board.

AB 2136 (Petrie-Norris) Personal income taxes: credit: family caregiver.

Level 1

Summary: The Personal Income Tax Law allows various credits against the taxes imposed by that law. This bill, for each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2021, and before January 1, 2026, would allow a credit against those taxes in an amount equal to 50% of the amount paid or incurred by a family caregiver during the taxable year for eligible expenses related to the care of an eligible family member, not to exceed \$5,000. The bill would limit the aggregate amount of these credits to be allocated in each calendar year to \$150,000,000 as well as any unused credit amount, if any, allocated in the preceding calendar year. The bill would require the Franchise Tax Board to allocate and certify these credits to taxpayers on a first-come-first-served basis.

AB 2360 (Maienschein) Telehealth: mental health.

Level 1 Support

Summary: Would require health care service plans and health insurers, by July 1, 2021, to provide access to a telehealth consultation program that meets specified criteria and provides providers who treat children and pregnant and certain postpartum persons with access to a mental health consultation program, as specified. The bill would require the consultation by a mental health clinician with expertise appropriate for pregnant, postpartum, and pediatric patients to be conducted by telephone or telehealth video, and to include guidance on the range of evidence-based treatment options, screening tools, and referrals. The bill would require health care service plans and insurers to communicate information relating to the telehealth program at least twice a year in writing.

AB 2399 (Committee on Insurance) Paid family leave: qualifying exigency.

Level 1 Watch

Summary: Current law establishes within the state disability insurance program a family temporary disability insurance program, also known as the Paid Family Leave program, for the provision of wage replacement benefits to workers who take time off work to care for a seriously ill family member or to bond with a minor child within one year of birth or placement, as specified, and, on and after January 1, 2021, to take time off to participate in a qualifying exigency related to the covered active duty or call to covered active duty of the individuals' spouse, domestic partner, child, or parent in the Armed Forces of the United States. Current law defines terms for paid family leave purposes, including defining the terms "care recipient," "care provider," and "family care leave." This bill would revise those definitions for the purpose of the qualifying exigency provisions. The bill would define "military member" for the purpose of that term's use in those revised definitions.

SB 29 (Durazo) Medi-Cal: eligibility.

Level 1 Support

Summary: Would, subject to an appropriation by the Legislature, and effective July 1, 2020, extend eligibility for full-scope Medi-Cal benefits to individuals who are 65 years of age or older, and who are otherwise eligible for those benefits but for their immigration status.

SB 1140 (Caballero) Personal income taxes: credits: child poverty tax credit.

Level 1 Support

Summary: Would, under the Personal Income Tax Law, additionally allow a refundable child poverty tax credit against the taxes imposed under that law, for each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2020, in an amount equal to either (1) \$2,940 multiplied by the earned income tax credit adjustment factor for qualified taxpayers, as defined, residing in a "Region 1" county on the last day of the taxable year, not to exceed \$2,500 per each qualified taxpayer per taxable year, or (2) \$2,353 multiplied by the earned income tax credit adjustment factor for qualified taxpayers, as defined, residing in a "Region 2" county on the last day of the taxable year, not to exceed \$2,000 per each qualified taxpayer per taxable year, as specified.

SB 1383 (Jackson) Unlawful employment practice: family leave.

Level 1 Support

Summary: Would revise and recast specified provisions to make it an unlawful employment practice for any employer to refuse to grant a request by an employee to take up to 12 workweeks of unpaid protected leave during any 12-month period to bond with a new child of the employee or to care for themselves or a child, parent, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or domestic partner, as specified. The bill would require an employer who employees' both parents of a child to grant leave to each employee.

Total Measures: 16

Total Tracking Forms: 16