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STATE BUDGET AND LEGISLATIVE UPDATE

SUMMARY

Staff will discuss the content of the Governor’s proposed 2016-17 budget, announced
on January 8, 2016, with particular emphasis on budget proposals directly related to
early childhood issues.

Staff also will discuss the upcoming legislative season, and outline First 5 California
strategies to actively inform and educate the Legislature on First 5 California’s mission
and goals. Staff will provide an overview of First 5 California state budget advocacy
priorities for Budget Year 2016-17, and an overview of policy areas that may be of
interest to the Commission and related select bills that have been introduced early in
the new session.

ATTACHMENTS

A. Summary of 2016-17 Governor’s Budget Proposals Impacting Young Children
B. Detailed Report of the 2015-16 Legislative Bills of Interest
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SUMMARY OF 2016-17 GOVERNOR’S BUDGET PROPOSALS
IMPACTING YOUNG CHILDREN

Overview

The Governor’s budget estimates total revenue increases of $5.9 billion for the three-
year period (2014-15 through 2016—-17 combined). Of that $5.9 billion, $4.3 billion is in
additional Proposition 98 spending for the three—year period due to growth in the
Proposition 98 “minimum guarantee”. This Proposition 98 funding level is $2.1 billion
over the revised 2015-16 level.

Early Education and Child Care Program Proposals

Despite this large increase in revenues and the continued growth and stability of the
state’s budget, the Governor’s budget proposes no increased investments in early
learning and child care programs beyond minimal growth and cost-of-living adjustment
(COLA) for capped child care programs. Instead, the budget proposes major structural
and accounting changes to the California Department of Education (CDE)-administered
early learning system, including the California State Preschool Program (CSPP) and the
current Transitional Kindergarten (TK) program.

Early Education Block Grant

The budget proposes a new $1.65 billion Early Education Block Grant funded through
Proposition 98 that collapses and eliminates current requirements for the existing TK,
CSPP, and the CSPP Quality Rating and Improvement System (QRIS) Block Grant,
including approximately:

e $880 million for the CSPP

e $725 million Proposition 98 funds for TK

e 350 million Proposition 98 funds for the CSPP QRIS Block Grant

The proposal acknowledges additional funding sources are affected by the current
CSPP program, including:

e $985 million in federal funds for the Head Start Program, which serves children ages
Oto5

e $300 million in a mix of General Fund and federal Child Care and Development
Fund for the state’s Title 5 General Child Care and Migrant Child Care programs for
children ages 0 to 5
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The details of the Governor’s proposal have not been released. The Department of
Finance has announced its plan to hold a stakeholder process to deliberate details. It is
unclear how the above funding sources will be affected with the consolidation of CSPP
into the TK-12 system. It also is unclear if Title 5 programs, other than CSPP, will
remain intact in light of the new block grant.

Working from the concepts of the Local Control Funding Formula (LCFF), the
Administration is pursuing the following objectives:

e Expanding financial flexibility that prioritizes services for each community’s lowest-
income and most at-risk four- and five-year-old children

e Distributing any new funding based on factors such as local demographics and
financial need, while ensuring no local educational agency (LEA) receives less
funding under the block grant than it received under the prior pre-kindergarten
programs

e Providing each LEA with the discretion to implement pre-kindergarten education
programs that align funding with local priorities

e Streamlining administrative processes

¢ Integrating and aligning accountability within an LEA’s current Local Control and
Accountability Plan

Funding

The new Early Education Block Grant is funded through an unknown funding formula as
a component to the LCFF, and will be distributed based on factors such as population
and need to ensure that funds are provided equitably to schools.

e TKis currently funded through average daily attendance (ADA). LEAs receive TK
ADA for enrolled children who turn 5 years old between September 2 and December
2 of the school year. LEAs have discretion to serve children who turn 5 after
December 2 in TK but are not allowed to receive ADA for those children until they
turn 5.

e CSPP is currently funded through competitive contracts with both LEAs and
community business organizations via a combination of Proposition 98 and non-
Proposition 98 General Fund to pay for wraparound child care. CSPP also leverages
Head Start funding within dual-funded CSPP/Head Start programs.

Accountability

The new block grant proposal outlines accountability goals:
2
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e Aligns with LCFF’s core tenets to allow for local LEA flexibility, improve
accountability alignment, and target resources to low-income and at-risk children

e Requires funding uses are aligned with Local Control Accountability Plans (LCAPS)

e Does not yet identify any required programmatic or accountability measures for
districts, administrators, teachers or programs

Eligibility

The new block grant proposal outlines goals that change current child eligibility for TK
and CSPP:

e Targets low-income and at-risk 4- and 5-year-olds

¢ Makes unknown changes to pre-K eligibility for both CSPP and TK but prioritizes
low-income and at-risk children

o Current CSPP eligibility is based on set criteria related to family income and a
family’s need for services, and serves 3 and 4 year-old children.

o Current TK eligibility is based on the statutory change of kindergarten enroliment,
and serves children who turn 5 years old between September 2"® and December
2"d of the school year. LEAs have discretion to serve children who turn five after
December 2" in TK but are not allowed to receive ADA for those children until
they turn 5.

Transitional Kindergarten

The proposal contains no programmatic, accountability, or funding details related to the
new program for 4-year-olds, and no information regarding how the new block grant will
affect the current TK program, aside from the new funding mechanism created to
collapse TK into a block grant separate from the ADA-funded kindergarten program, as
stated above. The proposal would hold TK ADA harmless for each LEA.

California State Preschool Program

The proposal holds currently contracted LEAs harmless so they do not receive less
funding under the block grant than they currently do under CSPP contracts. Full-
year/full-day funding for 2015-16 non-LEA CSPP expansion slots is still provided
through the General Child Care program.
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California State Preschool Program Quality Rating and Improvement System Block
Grant

The proposal eliminates the CSPP QRIS Block Grant by folding $50 million ongoing
Proposition 98 funding into the new Early Education Block Grant, eliminating the state’s
most recent quality improvement system efforts. The CSPP QRIS block grant is
currently funded through CDE contracts awarded to local QRIS consortia. These same
consortia are recipients of the Race to the Top — Early Learning Challenge grant federal
funds, scheduled to expire in the Budget Year. These consortia also are the intended
beneficiaries of the First 5 IMPACT (Improve and Maximize Programs so All Children
Thrive) funds, which were designed to be latticed to CSPP QRIS Block Grant funds.

Other Child Care Program Proposals

California receives approximately $570 million annually in federal Child Care and
Development Block Grant funding, which in addition to the state General Fund, provides
the total funding for the General Child Care, Migrant Child Care, Alternative Payment,
CalWORKSs Stage 3, and child care quality programs, as well as for Local Child Care
Planning Councils. The Governor’'s Budget Proposal contains no new funding for child
care beyond full-year funding for prior budget commitments and adjustments for COLA
and caseload.

The proposal:
e Adjusts capped programs for growth and COLA
e Adjusts CalWorks Stage 2 and Stage 3 for caseload and cost per case

e Provides full-year funding for 2015-16 Regional Market Rate and license-exempt
provider rate increases

e Maintains funding for Family Child Care Network Homes, Migrant, and Severely
Disabled programs through the General Child Care program

e Provides a net increase of $10.4 million federal Child Care and Development Funds
in 2016-17 to reflect a slight projected increase to the base grant amount, with a
total of $593.2 million in federal funding.

The proposal requires CDE to develop a plan for the state to transition the state’s major
capped programs, including General Child Care, and Migrant Child Care, from state
contracts to a voucher system over the next five years. Contracts administered by CDE
would be turned into voucher-based programs, in addition to the current voucher
programs, the Alternative Payment Program, and the CalWORKS Stages 1, 2, and 3.
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Per the budget proposal, California currently provides approximately a third of its child
care funding by direct contract to center-based care providers.

Medi-Cal Program
Adjustments to Medi-Cal
The Budget:

e Proposes total expenditures of $85.1 billion ($19.1 billion General Fund) for the
Medi-Cal program, which is an 8 percent increase in General Fund spending from
the prior year as a result of the implementation of the federal health care reform
under the Affordable Care Act

e Increases extends full-scope Medi-Cal coverage to undocumented children, as
approved through the 2015-16 Budget Act, including $182 million ($145 million
General Fund) to provide full-scope benefits to 170,000 children beginning May 1,
2016

¢ Increases funding by $169.9 million ($57 million General Fund) in 2016-17 to
counties for the administration of Medi-Cal eligibility determinations

Managed Care Organization Tax

Calendar year 2017 is the first year the state will share the costs of the optional
expansion population under federal health care reform.

e To serve the 3.4 million residents now receiving coverage, the Budget allocates
$740 million General Fund for the state’s 5 percent share of costs (on a half-year
basis). These costs are projected to reach $1.8 billion General Fund annually by
2020-12

e Proposes a new tax reform package to extend the Managed Care Organization
(MCO) tax. This new tax reform package now includes offsets in the gross premiums
tax, and business and corporation tax, which were not previously part of the
proposal

e Raises $1.3 billion (on net) annually with restructured MCO tax, while reducing other
taxes on affected health plans

e Uses $236 million from MCO tax to maintain restoration of the In-Home Supportive
Services

e Assumes the tax is in place for three years starting in 2016—-17
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Social Services Proposals
Foster Care and Child Welfare

The Budget includes $94.9 million ($60.9 million General Fund) for the Department of
Social Services (DSS), Department of Health Care Services, county child welfare
agencies, and county probation departments to continue the implementation of the
Continuum of Care reforms. These reforms emphasize home-based family care,
improve access to services without having to change out-of-home placements to get
those services, and increase the role of children, youth, and families in assessment and
case planning.

CalFresh

The Budget includes $804,000 ($261,000 General Fund) and five new positions for DSS
to provide technical assistance and training to the 19 largest counties for enrolling and
retaining families in CalFresh. This work will be coordinated with Medi-Cal and the
Women Infants and Children program to provide appropriate nutrition assistance for
young children.

Revenues and Estimates

The Budget acknowledges the decline in tobacco tax revenues in the Budget Summary,
and projects this decline to continue. Annual per capita consumption (based on
population ages 18 to 64) was 123 packs in 1989-90, 84 packs in 1997-98, and 35
packs in 2014-15. This forecast assumes an annual decline in total consumption of
approximately 2.8 percent.

2014-15 2015-16 | 2016-17
Tobacco Tax Revenue

Preliminary | Forecast | Forecast

General Fund $86.3 $83.8 $81.5
Cigarette and Tobacco

Products Surtax Fund 267.9 262.3 255.0
Breast Cancer Fund 17.2 15.9 15.5
California Children and

Families First Trust Fund 461.0 451.1 438.5
Total $832.4 $813.1 $790.5
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Legislative Bills of Interest
Priority Level 1 and 2 Bills

(Ridley-Thomas) Public School Health Center Support Program
Current Text: Amended: 4/27/15
Location: 8/28/16-S. 2 Year Bill

Summary: Current law requires the Department of Public Health (DPH), in
cooperation with the California Department of Education, to establish a Public
School Health Center Support Program to perform specified functions relating to the
establishment, retention, or expansion of school health centers in California, giving
preference for grant funding to schools in areas designated as federally medically
underserved areas or in areas with medically underserved populations, or schools
with a high percentage of low-income and uninsured children and youth. This bill
would require DPH to also give preference to schools with a high percentage of
children and youth who receive free or low-cost health coverage through Medi-Cal.

(Nazarian) Health Care Coverage: Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders
Current Text: Amended: 1/13/16
Location: 1/21/16-A. Appropriations

Summary: Current law requires every health care service plan contract and health
insurance policy to provide coverage for behavioral health treatment for pervasive
developmental disorder or until January 1, 2017, and defines "behavioral health
treatment " to mean specified services provided by a qualified autism service
professional supervised and employed by a qualified autism service provider. This
bill would extend the operation of these provisions to January 1, 2022.

(Bloom) Children and Family Health Promotion Program
Current Text: Amended: 4/29/2015
Location: 5/12/15-A. Health

Summary: This bill, subject to specified exemptions, would impose a fee on every
distributor for the privilege of distributing in this state bottled sweetened
beverages, and concentrate, either as concentrate or as sweetened beverages
derived from that concentrate, at the rate of $0.02 per fluid ounce. The Board of
Equalization would be responsible for administering and collecting the fee and
registering the distributors upon whom the fee is imposed. These amounts would
be deposited into the Children and Family Health Promotion Trust Fund, created by
the bill. The bill would require moneys in the fund, upon appropriation by the
Legislature, to be allocated to the Department of Public Health, the Department of
Health Care Services, the California Department of Education, and the Department
of Food and Agriculture for various purposes of statewide diabetes and childhood
obesity treatment and prevention activities and programs, including awarding
competitive grants to local governments, nonprofit organizations, school districts,
and other entities for activities in support of the bill's objectives.

1
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(Eggman) Pupil Health: School-Based Mental Health Services
Current Text: Introduced: 1/04/16
Location: 1/13/16-A. Print

Summary: This bill would declare the intent of the Legislature to enact future
legislation that would utilize school-based mental health services to address the
mental health needs of children in the state.

(Bonta) School-Based Early Mental Health Intervention and Prevention Services
Current Text: Introduced: 1/11/16
Location: 1/11/16-A. Print

Summary: This bill would, under the School-based Early Mental Health Intervention
and Prevention Services for Children Act of 199, expand the definition of an eligible
pupil to include a pupil who attends a preschool program at a publicly funded
elementary school and a pupil who is in transitional kindergarten, thereby extending
the application of the act to those persons. The bill would also include charter
schools in the definition of local educational agency, thereby extending the
application of the act to those entities.

(Bonta) Medi-Cal: Developmental Services: Funding
Current Text: Amended: 9/03/15
Location: 1/21/16-S. Conference Committee

Summary: This bill would state the intent of the Legislature to enact legislation that
establishes funding sources and mechanisms in order to provide additional support
for, and access to, Medi-Cal and developmental services and that uses those
funding sources and mechanisms to increase access, ensure network adequacy,
improve quality, and minimize geographic and service shortages in the Medi-Cal
program and to increase access to services provided through regional centers.

(Bonta) Medi-Cal and Developmental Services: Funding: Rates
Current Text: Introduced: 7/02/15
Location: 9/03/15-S. Rules

Summary: This bill would state the intent of the Legislature to enact legislation to
stabilize funding for the Medi-Cal program and to provide rate increases for Medi-Cal
and developmental services providers.

(Chu) Developmental Services: Provider Rates: Minimum Wage
Current Text: Introduced: 7/16/15
Location: 7/16/15-A. Print

Summary: Existing law, the Lanterman Developmental Disabilities Services Act,
requires the State Department of Developmental Services to contract with regional
centers to provide services and supports to individuals with developmental
disabilities and their families. Existing law requires the department to enter into
contracts with private nonprofit corporations to operate regional centers that provide
community services and support for consumers and their families, including, but not
limited to, residential placement. This bill would instead authorize an adjustment in
prescribed provider rates as necessary to adjust employee wages to meet the state
minimum wage law. This bill contains other existing laws.

2
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(Liu) Report: School-Based Medi-Cal Administrative Activities Program
Current Text: Amended: 5/12/15
Location: 7/17/15-A. 2 Year Bill

Summary: This bill would require the Legislative Analyst, in consultation with the
California Department of Education and the Department of Health Care Services, to
review and prepare specific recommendations relative to the administration and
oversight of the School-Based Medi-Cal Administrative Activities program. The bill
would require the Legislative Analyst to submit a report containing the specific
recommendations to the Legislature and Governor by July 1, 2016, and would
require the report to include, but not be limited to, an evaluation of specified entities,
administrative structures, and information. The bill would also require the
Department of Health Care Services to annually post on its Internet website the
administrative fee percentage charged by each local governmental agency or local
educational consortium.

(Beall) Pupil Services: Mental Health Services
Current Text: Introduced: 1/19/16
Location: 1/19/16-S. Print

Summary: This bill would state the intent of the Legislature to enact legislation
relating to the provision of mental health services to pupils with exceptional needs.

(Hernandez) Medi-Cal: Developmental Services: Provider Rate Increases
Current Text: Amended: 9/04/15

Location: 1/21/16-S. Conference Committee

Summary: This bill would declare the intent of the Legislature to enact statutory

changes that would stabilize funding for the Medi-Cal program and provide rate
increases for providers of Medi-Cal and developmental services.

(Hernandez) Medi-Cal: Developmental Services: Funding: Access
Current Text: Introduced: 7/06/15
Location: 9/01/15-A. Desk

Summary: This bill would declare the intent of the Legislature that would enact
legislation to establish funding sources and mechanisms to provide additional
support and access to services for the state's Medi-Cal and developmental services
programs.

(Nielsen) Developmental Services: Medi-Cal: Rate Increases
Current Text: Introduced: 7/16/15
Location: 7/16/15-S. Print

Summary: This bill would, to the extent that General Fund revenues for the 2014-15
fiscal year exceed the revenues estimated for that fiscal year in the Budget Act of
2015 and that General Fund revenues for the 2015-16 fiscal year are expected to
exceed the revenues estimated for that fiscal year in the Budget Act of 2015,
appropriate certain sums to the Department of Developmental Services to increase
rates for certain developmental service providers and to increase regional center
operating budgets, and appropriate certain sums to the Department of Health Care
Services for the purpose of increasing Medi-Cal provider rates for providers whose

3
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rates were reduced. The bill would require the Director of Finance to determine the
percentage increases to be provided to developmental service providers, regional
center operating budgets, and Medi-Cal providers based on the amount by which
General Fund revenues exceed, or are expected to exceed, the revenues budgeted
for the 2014-15 and 2015-16 fiscal years. The bill would make the rate increases, if
any, retroactive to July 1, 2015.

Early Learning and Care

AB 445

Level 2

AB 598

Level 1
Support

AB 765

Level 1
Support

(Alejo) Child Day Care Facilities: Nutrition
Current Text: Amended: 1/04/16
Location: 1/05/16-A. Human Services

Summary: Current law requires childhood nutrition training for certain child day care
facility licensees to include information about reimbursement rates for the United
States Department of Agriculture Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP). The
bill would require the Department of Social Services (DSS) to inform prospective and
current child day care providers about CACFP by posting specified information on the
DSS's Internet website, and by disseminating information by other means deemed
appropriate by the DSS.

(Rendon) Child Care: Family Child Care Home Education Networks
Current Text: Amended: 1/14/16
Location: 1/21/16-A. Appropriations

Summary: Current law requires each family child care home education network to
assess the educational quality of the program offered in each family child care home
in the network. This bill would require that tools used to make these assessments be
appropriate to family child care home settings. The bill would require the network to
complete the developmental profile in collaboration with the provider by conducting a
parent survey of a child's developmental progress as directed by the California
Department of Education and incorporating it into the profile. The bill would require a
family child care home education network to include the maintenance of a
developmental portfolio, and conduct a minimum of 9 site visits to each affiliated
provider in a calendar year. The bill would require a provider in a family child care
home education network to adopt and use a curriculum or curricula of the provider's
choosing that is appropriate for the age range of children in the home. The bill also
would impose additional duties on providers, including providing age and
developmentally appropriate educational activities for children.

(Ridley-Thomas) Child Care and Development: Reimbursement Rates
Current Text: Amended: 3/26/2015
Location: 5/29/2015-A. 2 YEAR

Summary: This bill would provide that the child care standard reimbursement rate
is not intended to fund mandated costs imposed upon child development programs
due to actions of law relating to minimum wage requirements, health insurance
requirements, new or increased fees, new or expanded program requirements, or
other cost increases due to legislative action. The bill would require the standard
reimbursement rate to be raised as needed to provide a living wage, reasonable
health insurance, and retirement benefits for employees, to support the recruitment
and retention of skilled and trained teachers, to support the financial stability of
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programs and educational quality, and to achieve gender pay equity. The bill would
define cost-of-living adjustment to be, among other things, at least equal to the
amount of the inflation adjustments given to K-12 education programs.

(Olsen) Preschool: Privately Funded Pilot Program: Tax Credits
Current Text: Amended: 7/2/2015
Location: 8/28/15-S. 2 Year Bill (Held on Appropriations Suspense File)

Summary: This bill would, until January 1, 2021, authorize the California
Department of Education (CDE), as part of a pilot program, to accept monetary
contributions made to the California Preschool Investment Fund, which this bill
would create, by a person for purposes of preschool education, as provided. The
bill would require the money in the fund to be used to, among other things, fund
state preschools part of the California state preschool program located in one of
the 5 participating counties, as provided. The bill would require participating
counties to report to CDE's Early Education and Support Division regarding the
county's assessment of how the pilot program is performing. The bill would require
any moneys remaining in the fund after January 1, 2021, to be transferred to any
other state fund identified by CDE that provides funding for increased access to
preschool programs for low-income children.

(Weber) Child Care: State Preschool Programs: Eligibility: Military Families
Current Text: Introduced: 1/19/16
Location: 1/19/16-A. Rules

Summary: This bill, under the Child Care and Development Services Act, would
exclude the amount of the basic allowance for housing provided to an individual who is
on federal active duty, state active duty, active duty for special work, or Active Guard
and Reserve duty in the military that is equal to the lowest rate of the allowance for the
military housing area in which the individual resides from income for purposes of
determining eligibility for state preschool services.

Revenue and Governance

AB 1594

Level 1

ABX2 6

Level 1
Support

(McCarty) Public Postsecondary Education: Prohibition of Smoking and Vaping
on Campuses

Current Text: Introduced: 1/06/16
Location: 1/06/16-A. Print

Summary: This bill would prohibit the smoking of a tobacco product or the use of an
e-cigarette on a campus of the California State University or the California Community
Colleges. The bill would authorize the governing bodies of the California State
University and each community college district to set standards for the enforcement of
that prohibition. The bill would authorize the enforcement of this prohibition by a fine,
not to exceed $100, as specified.

(Cooper) Electronic Cigarettes
Current Text: Amended: 8/27/15
Location: 9/10/15-A. Third Reading

Summary: This bill would define the term "smoking" for purposes of the Stop Tobacco
Access to Kids Enforcement (STAKE) Act. The bill would also change the STAKE

5



ABX2 8

Level 1
Support

ABX29

Level 2

ABX2 10

Level 1
Support

AGENDA ITEM: 6B
DATE OF MEETING: January 28, 2016

Act's definition of "tobacco products” to include electronic devices, such as electronic
cigarettes, that deliver nicotine or other vaporized liquids, and make furnishing such a
tobacco product to a minor a misdemeanor. The bill would include in the definition of
tobacco products for the purposes of those provisions relating to licenses for retailers
the STAKE Act's new definition of tobacco products. The bill would require a retailer
that seeks to sell a tobacco product that is not subject to imposition of a tax under the
Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax Law to pay a one-time license fee to engage in
the sale of that product, as specified. The bill would require all cartridges for electronic
cigarettes and solutions for filling or refilling an electronic cigarette to be in childproof
packaging, as prescribed. The bill would make these provisions operative on October
1, 2016. The bill also would make the use of electronic cigarettes in some restricted
locations, as specified, a violation punishable as an infraction.

(Wood) Tobacco Products: Minimum Legal Age
Current Text: Amended: 9/24/15
Location: 9/10/15-A. Third Reading

Summary: The Stop Tobacco Access to Kids Enforcement (STAKE) Act, establishes
various requirements for distributors and retailers relating to tobacco sales to minors.
Current law requires the Department of Public Health to conduct random, onsite sting
inspections of tobacco product retailers with the assistance of persons under 18 years
of age. This bill would extend the applicability of those provisions to persons under 21
years of age. The bill would authorize the Department of Public Health to conduct
random, onsite string inspections of tobacco product retailers with the assistance of
persons under 21 years of age.

(Thurmond) Tobacco Use Programs
Current Text: Amended: 8/27/15
Location: 9/10/15-A. Third Reading

Summary: This bill would expand eligibility for funding for the tobacco use prevention
program to include charter schools. The bill would require the California Department of
Education to require that all school districts, charter schools, and county offices of
education receiving funding under the program adopt and enforce a tobacco-free
campus policy prohibiting the use of products containing tobacco and nicotine, as
specified.

(Bloom) Local Taxes: Authorization: Cigarettes and Tobacco Products
Current Text: Introduced: 7/16/15
Location: 8/27/15-A. Third Reading

Summary: The Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax Law imposes a tax on every
distributor of cigarettes and tobacco products at specified rates. That law specifies
that the taxes imposed by that law are in lieu of all other state, county, municipal, or
district taxes on the privilege of distributing cigarettes or tobacco products. The
California Constitution prohibits the Legislature from imposing taxes for local
purposes, but allows the Legislature to authorize local governments to impose them.
This bill would authorize the board of supervisors of a county or city and county to
impose a tax on the privilege of distributing cigarettes and tobacco products in the
county or city and county, including within an incorporated city within the county.
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(Nazarian) Cigarettes and Tobacco Product Licensing: Fees and Funding
Current Text: Introduced: 7/16/15
Location: 9/10/15-A. Third Reading

Summary: The Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing Act of 2003 requires the
Board of Equalization (BOE) to administer a statewide program to license
manufacturers, importers, distributors, wholesalers, and retailers of cigarettes and
tobacco products. That act requires retailers of cigarettes and tobacco products to
obtain a separate license for each retail location, to be issued by the board upon
receipt of a completed application and payment of a one-time fee, unless specified
conditions apply. This bill would require a fee of $265 to be submitted with each
license application, as described above. The bill would require, for calendar years
beginning on and after January 1, 2016, every retailer to file an application for renewal
of a retailer's license accompanied with a fee of $265 per retail location, in the form
and manner prescribed by the board. The Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing
Act of 2003 requires every wholesaler and distributor who commences business
selling or distributing cigarettes or tobacco products, or who commences doing so at a
new or different place of business in the state, to apply for a license accompanied by a
required fee of $1,000 for each location. The act also requires wholesalers and
distributors to file an application for a renewal of license accompanied by a required
fee of $1,000 for each location where cigarettes and tobacco products are sold. The
bill would raise the fees described above to $1,200. The bill would require the BOE to
report to the Legislature no later than January 1, 2019 regarding the adequacy of
funding for the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing Act of 2003, as specified.

(Bonta) Public Health: Cigarettes and Tobacco Products: Electronic Cigarettes:
Taxes: California Health Care Research, and Prevention Tobacco Tax Act of 2015

Current Text: Introduced: 8/26/15
Location: 8/27/15-A. Public Health & Developmental Services

Summary: This bill would expand the definition of tobacco products for purposes of
that act to include electronic cigarettes thereby subjecting manufacturers, importers,
distributors, wholesalers, and retailers of electronic cigarettes to the same licensing
requirements imposed on tobacco products. The bill would impose an additional tax
on the distribution of cigarettes at the rate of $2 per pack of cigarettes. The bill
additionally would impose a tax on the distribution of electronic cigarettes based on
the wholesale cost, at a rate determined annually that is equivalent to the cigarette tax
rate, which would be $2.87 per package of 20 cigarettes. This bill would expand the
definition of "tobacco products" for purposes of the Cigarette and Tobacco Products
Tax Law to include electronic cigarettes, thereby subjecting distributors, wholesalers,
and transporters of electronic cigarettes to, among other things, the same licensing,
bonding, and registration requirements imposed on distributors, wholesalers, and
transporters of tobacco products. The bill would provide that the revenues collected
from the taxes imposed on cigarettes and electronic cigarettes by this bill, less
refunds, would not be considered General Fund revenues and would be deposited in
the California Health Care, Research, and Prevention Tobacco Tax Act of 2015 Fund
created by this bill. The bill would require moneys in the California Health Care,
Research, and Prevention Tobacco Tax Act of 2015 Fund to be continuously
appropriated without regard to fiscal year to the Controller, to be used to fund health
care and prevention programs.
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(Hernandez) Tobacco Products: Minimum Legal Age
Current Text: Introduced: 1/29/2015
Location: 7/17/15-A. 2 Year Bill

Summary: The Stop Tobacco Access to Kids Enforcement (STAKE) Act, establishes
various requirements for distributors and retailers relating to tobacco sales to minors.
Current law requires the Department of Public Health to conduct random, onsite sting
inspections of tobacco product retailers with the assistance of persons under 18 years
of age. This bill would extend the applicability of those provisions to persons under 21
years of age. The bill would authorize the Department of Public Health to conduct
random, onsite string inspections of tobacco product retailers with the assistance of
persons under 21 years of age.

(Leno) Electronic Cigarettes
Current Text: Amended: 8/26/15
Location: 8/27/15-A. Desk

Summary: This bill would define the term "smoking" for purposes of the Stop
Tobacco Access to Kids Enforcement (STAKE) Act. The bill would also change the
STAKE Act's definition of "tobacco products” to include electronic devices, such as
electronic cigarettes, that deliver nicotine or other vaporized liquids, and make
furnishing such a tobacco product to a minor a misdemeanor. The bill would include
in the definition of tobacco products for the purposes of those provisions relating to
licenses for retailers the STAKE Act's new definition of tobacco products. The bill
would require a retailer that seeks to sell a tobacco product that is not subject to
imposition of a tax under the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax Law to pay a one-
time license fee to engage in the sale of that product, as specified. The bill would
require all cartridges for electronic cigarettes and solutions for filling or refilling an
electronic cigarette to be in childproof packaging, as prescribed. The bill would make
these provisions operative on October 1, 2016. The bill also would make the use of
electronic cigarettes in some restricted locations, as specified, a violation punishable
as an infraction.

(Hernandez) Tobacco Products: Minimum Legal Age

Current Text: Introduced: 7/16/15

Location: 8/27/15-A. Desk

Summary: The Stop Tobacco Access to Kids Enforcement (STAKE) Act, establishes
various requirements for distributors and retailers relating to tobacco sales to
minors. Current law requires the Department of Public Health to conduct random,
onsite sting inspections of tobacco product retailers with the assistance of persons
under 18 years of age. This bill would extend the applicability of those provisions to
persons under 21 years of age. The bill would authorize the Department of Public
Health to conduct random, onsite string inspections of tobacco product retailers with
the assistance of persons under 21 years of age.

(Liu) Tobacco Use Programs
Current Text: Amended: 8/25/15
Location: 8/27/15-A. Desk

Summary: This bill would expand eligibility for funding for the tobacco use
prevention program to include charter schools. The bill would require the California
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Department of Education to require that all school districts, charter schools, and
county offices of education receiving funding under the program adopt and enforce a
tobacco-free campus policy prohibiting the use of products containing tobacco and
nicotine, as specified.

SBX2 9 (McGuire) Local Taxes: Authorization: Cigarettes and Tobacco Products
Current Text: Introduced: 7/16/15

Level 1 Location: 8/27/15-A. Desk

Support Summary: The Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax Law imposes a tax on every

distributor of cigarettes and tobacco products at specified rates. That law specifies
that the taxes imposed by that law are in lieu of all other state, county, municipal, or
district taxes on the privilege of distributing cigarettes or tobacco products. The
California Constitution prohibits the Legislature from imposing taxes for local
purposes, but allows the Legislature to authorize local governments to impose them.
This bill would authorize the board of supervisors of a county or city and county to
impose a tax on the privilege of distributing cigarettes and tobacco products in the
county or city and county, including within an incorporated city within the county.

SBX2 10 (Beall) Cigarette and Tobacco Product Licensing: Fees and Funding
Current Text: Introduced: 7/16/15
Level 1 Location: 8/27/15-A. Desk
Support Summary: The Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing Act of 2003 requires the

Board of Equalization (BOE) to administer a statewide program to license
manufacturers, importers, distributors, wholesalers, and retailers of cigarettes and
tobacco products. That act requires retailers of cigarettes and tobacco products to
obtain a separate license for each retail location, to be issued by the BOE upon
receipt of a completed application and payment of a one-time fee, unless specified
conditions apply. This bill would require a fee of $265 to be submitted with each
license application, as described above. The bill would require, for calendar years
beginning on and after January 1, 2016, every retailer to file an application for
renewal of a retailer's license accompanied with a fee of $265 per retail location, in
the form and manner prescribed by the BOE. The Cigarette and Tobacco Products
Licensing Act of 2003 requires every wholesaler and distributor who commences
business selling or distributing cigarettes or tobacco products, or who commences
doing so at a new or different place of business in the state, to apply for a license
accompanied by a required fee of $1,000 for each location. The act also requires
wholesalers and distributors to file an application for a renewal of license
accompanied by a required fee of $1,000 for each location where cigarettes and
tobacco products are sold. The bill would raise the fees described above to $1,200.
The bill would require the BOE to report to the Legislature no later than January 1,
2019 regarding the adequacy of funding for the Cigarette and Tobacco Products
Licensing Act of 2003, as specified.

SBX2 13 (Pan) Public Health: Cigarette and Tobacco Product Licensing: Electronic Cigarettes:
Taxes: California Health Care, Research, and Prevention Tobacco Tax Act of 2015

Current Text: Introduced: 8/26/15
Level 1 Location: 8/26/15-S. Public Health & Developmental Services

Summary: This bill would expand the definition of tobacco products for purposes of
that act to include electronic cigarettes thereby subjecting manufacturers, importers,
distributors, wholesalers, and retailers of electronic cigarettes to the same licensing
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requirements imposed on tobacco products. The bill would impose an additional tax
on the distribution of cigarettes at the rate of $2 per pack of cigarettes. The bill
additionally would impose a tax on the distribution of electronic cigarettes based on
the wholesale cost, at a rate determined annually that is equivalent to the cigarette
tax rate, which would be $2.87 per package of 20 cigarettes. This bill would expand
the definition of "tobacco products" for purposes of the Cigarette and Tobacco
Products Tax Law to include electronic cigarettes, thereby subjecting distributors,
wholesalers, and transporters of electronic cigarettes to, among other things, the
same licensing, bonding, and registration requirements imposed on distributors,
wholesalers, and transporters of tobacco products. The bill would provide that the
revenues collected from the taxes imposed on cigarettes and electronic cigarettes
by this bill, less refunds, would not be considered General Fund revenues and would
be deposited in the California Health Care, Research, and Prevention Tobacco Tax
Act of 2015 Fund created by this bill. The bill would require moneys in the California
Health Care, Research, and Prevention Tobacco Tax Act of 2015 Fund to be
continuously appropriated without regard to fiscal year to the Controller, to be used
to fund health care and prevention programs.

(Hernandez) Tobacco Electronic Cigarettes: Taxes: Managed Care Organization
Provider Tax: In-Home Supportive Services

Current Text: Introduced: 9/09/15
Location: 9/11/15-S. Third Reading

Summary: This bill would impose an additional tax on the distribution of cigarettes at
the rate of $2 per package of cigarettes. The bill would additionally impose a tax on
the distribution of electronic cigarettes based on the wholesale cost, at a rate
determined annually that is equivalent to the cigarette tax rate, which would be
$2.87 per package of 20 cigarettes. The bill would expand the definition of "tobacco
products" for purposes of the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax Law to include
electronic cigarettes, thereby subjecting distributors, wholesalers, and transporters
of electronic cigarettes to the same licensing, bonding, and registration
requirements. The bill would provide that revenues collected from the taxes imposed
on cigarettes and electronic cigarettes would not be considered General Fund
revenues and would be deposited in the California Health Care, Research, and
Prevention Tobacco Tax Act of 2015 Fund created by this bill. The bill would
continuously appropriate those amounts for allocation and be expended for specified
purposes, which include: (1) offsetting any revenue decreases directly resulting from
the additional taxes imposed by this bill to the Cigarette and Tobacco Products
Surtax Fund, the Breast Cancer Fund, and the California Children and Families
Trust Fund; (2) reimbursing the BOE and the State Auditor for administrative duties
imposed by the bill; (3) providing funding to the University of California for the
purpose of increasing the number of physicians trained in California; (4) funding
state and local law enforcement efforts and investigative activities to reduce illegal
sales of tobacco products; (5) providing funding to the Department of Health Care
Services for existing health care programs and services and to draw down federal
funding; (6) funding the California Department of Public Health Tobacco Control
Program; and (7) supplementing the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Surtax
Medical Research Program administered by the University of California. The bill also
would establish a new managed care organization provider tax, to be administered
by the Department of Health Care Services in consultation with the Department of
Managed Health Care. The tax would be assessed by the department on licensed
health care service plans and managed care plans contracted with the department to
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provide Medi-Cal services. The bill would establish the Health and Human Services
Special Fund in the State Treasury, into which all revenues, less refunds, would be
deposited. The bill would require $230,000,000 in the fund to be transferred to the
Developmental Disabilities Fund, which the bill would create, to be used upon
appropriation to increase funding provided to regional centers and increase rates
paid to service providers for providing services to persons with disabilities. The
remaining moneys in the fund would be continuously appropriated to the department
for funding the nonfederal share of Medi-Cal managed care rates.

Strong and Engaged Families

AB 492

Level 2

AB 908

Level 1
Support

AB 1371

Level 2

SB 636

Level 2

(Gonzalez) CalWORKSs: Welfare-to-Work: Supportive Services
Current Text: Amended: 3/26/15
Location: 1/21/16-A. Appropriations

Summary: Current law requires that necessary supportive services be available to
participants in welfare-to-work activities, including child care. This bill would provide
that necessary supportive services also include vouchers in the amount of $50 per
month for diaper products for every child two years of age or younger enrolled in child
care pursuant to the above-mentioned provisions.

(Gomez) Disability Compensation: Family Temporary Disability Insurance
Current Text: Amended: 9/04/15
Location: 1/21/16-A. Concurrence

Summary: This bill would require the family temporary disability insurance program
to provide up to 10 weeks of wage replacement benefits. This bill would, for
purposes of this program, require the weekly benefit amount to be calculated with a
specified formula. However, the amount would be prohibited from being less than
$250 and more than the maximum workers' compensation temporary disability
indemnity weekly benefit amount.

(Lackey) Personal Income Taxes: Deduction: Education Expenses

Current Text: Amended: 4/20/15

Location: 4/21/15-A. Revenue & Taxation

Summary: This bill, for taxable years on or after January 1, 2016, and before
January 1, 2021, would allow a deduction from adjusted gross income, not to exceed

$2,500, for the cost of education-related expenses of the taxpayer's dependent child
or children attending public or private school, as specified.

(Liu) Homeless Youth: Basic Material Needs Assistance
Current Text: Amended: 1/04/16
Location: 1/21/16-A. Appropriations

Summary: This bill would require, from moneys appropriated by the Legislature, for
the Department of Social Services (DSS) to establish and operate a Homeless Youth
Basic Material Needs Assistance Program for homeless youth in California. The bill
would require the DSS to solicit proposals from, and contract with, nonprofit
organizations for the purpose of providing basic material needs assistance to
homeless youth. The bill would require contracted nonprofit organizations to provide
a minimum of 100 percent matching funds. The bill would require each contracted
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nonprofit organization to prepare a report for the DSS including information on the
number of homeless youth assisted.

(Jackson) Income Taxes: Credit: Child Care

Current Text: Amended: 8/20/15

Location: 8/26/15-A. Appropriations

Summary: This bill, for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2016, and
before January 1, 2021, would allow a credit in the amount of 30% of the costs of
startup expenses for child care programs, constructing a child care facility, providing
child care information and referral services, and contributing to a qualified care plan,
as defined. The bill would authorize, in the case where the credit allowed for the
taxable year exceeds the “net tax” or “tax” the excess to be carried over to reduce the
“net tax” or “tax” in the following year, and the succeeding 7 years if necessary. The
bill would also require the Franchise Tax Board to report to the Legislature on the
effectiveness of these credits.
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